Fast

There has been some talk of others fasting for Taryn. Im her mom and I probably should be fasting as well. But that requires commitment right? And of course when God lays something on your heart its kinda hard to ignore it. So! Fasting I will be doing! I have thought about it and I’m committing myself to 1 week of no Internet or Facebook or Email or Blogging. Those things are my escape especially when I am pumping as I have 30 min of “free” time each time I pump. And since I spend about 3 hrs a day pumping that is a heck of a lot more time to spend with God!

Starting tomorrow, Thursday no more Internet, facebook, email, or blogging. If you need me give me a call.

Since I will be un-plugging tomorrow here is an update on Taryn…

She is still not getting rid of her CO2 effectively. (remember we get rid of ours by exhaling) Her level remains in the 70’s and staying in that range could cause long term brain and physical defects. They are hoping to get her level to the low 60’s but ideally they’d like to see it in the 50’s. So, they’ve made a change. She is now back on a ventilator, but this machine is hooked up to her nose like the CPAP machine was. They’re hope is that this will be effective enough to help her lower her CO2 level. If this doesn’t work, she will have to be intubated and put back on the conventional vent.

She has been gaining weight! FINALLY! The goal is 20 grams a day and she has been doing that the last few days. She is currently 2lbs 6oz!!! πŸ™‚

My focus during this fast will be on her lungs and weight gain. I’d like to encourage you to join me. Join me in a fast appropriate to your life. If you do decide to join, leave a comment and tell me about it. And next Friday when my fast is over I will read everyone’s comments/commitments.

Lots of love and thank you’s,
BJTO

5 Replies to “Fast”

  1. Lots of love to you guys. But, if you’re pumping you NEED EXTRA calories – not fasting. This fast could have a negative effect on your milk supply that you might not be able to come back from. Good luck in whatever decision you make & God bless Taryn!!

    Like

  2. What a great idea!

    I got clearance from the dr to run again so i will do morning run starting tomorrow and pray for Tarryn on my running.

    Thank you for keep updating us with your honest blog. Following up on Tarryn’s development strengthen my faith in our God.

    Like

  3. I do my best to read the Bible everyday but I will commit to 1 Hour a day. Praying for you and Ben and especially for Taryn to continue to put on weight and for her lungs to get stronger!

    Like

  4. Angela – she is only fasting from the internet, facebook and e-mailing. πŸ™‚ Trust me I would never let her fast with food right now!

    Like

Comments are closed.