Thanksgiving Dinner

I am making Thanksgiving dinner this year!!! I get to use all my good plates (white french porcelain), silverware, (which isn’t silver it’s 18/10 stainless), and crystal. (Yes it’s actually crystal not glass. Well actually the water glasses are glass) I am setting my table all pretty and since we only have 6 chairs for our dinning table, Ben and I will be sitting on plastic stools. Because we are just those kind of hosts…we will take the stools. Our table is one of those tall tables so you can’t just pony up any chair to it. And I can’t find more chairs that match.

Now, because I am…detailed oriented, I have listed my whole menu in a word document complete with bullet points. And then under each dish is all the ingredients, bullet pointed. This makes for supper easy grocery shopping. And bellow all that is the list of things like the 12 sticks of butter I will be using. It’s easier to know ahead of time a total number of sticks than to stand in the fridge section holding up all the other people looking for mass quantities of butter while I go through the recipes and count.

Then once I am home, the prep begins. I actually do almost everything ahead of time! Even the mashed potatoes. Peal them, cut them up, and put them in a plastic bag with water. They will keep beautifully till you need to boil them.

I will even timeline out my whole day to make sure everything finishes up right at the same time! Like I said, detailed oriented.

I am usually not adventurous when it comes to cooking traditional meals, but I have found over the last few years some AMAZING recipes that are a better version of the traditional. Like “my” green bean casserole. Never again will I make it with canned cream-o-mushroom soup or canned green beans.

So, here is my Thanksgiving 2010 menu with recipes included.

What are you doing for Thanksgiving?

Turkey
-All natural fresh Huntsinger 24 lb Turkey from Santa Clarita, CA
-Williams-Sonoma Turkey Brine
-Inject Turkey w/ melted butter and chicken stock
-Compound butter w/ sage, thyme, & marjoram under the skin and rubbed on the outside

Green Bean Casserole

Sweet Potato Casserole

Mashed Potatoes
-Cut potatoes up in cubes, then boil till soft when fork is inserted. When done drain water and beat potatoes w/ electric mixer till all mashed up.
-Add warm milk, melted butter and salt to taste
(Perfectly smooth every time)

Stuffing
This year it is coming from Williams-Sonoma pre-cooked.

Cranberries

Pillsbury Crescent Rolls

Pecan Pie
I use Williams-Sonoma Pie Crust
Pumpkin Pie
I use Williams-Sonoma Pie Crust

Haagen-Dazs Vanilla Ice Cream

