Taryn’s Name in the Sand

This couldn’t have happened at a more fitting time. I ran across this site where this women takes requests and writes your child’s name in the sand on a beach in Australia.

Here is their story: To Write Their Names in the Sand

Firstly, we would like to let you know a bit about our story and what it is we do here at To Write Their Names In The Sand.

On Australia Day (January 26th) 2007 our son Christian was stillborn. Our world fell apart. We could not believe that our perfect baby boy was not going to be able to come home from the hospital with us.

Over the following 18 months we struggled to make sense of why this could have possibly happened to us. We still don’t understand why.

On August 19th 2008 I dreamed of our son for the first time. He was playing on the beach with his friends that had also passed away. I walked up the beach to where he was but before I got to him, he ran away. I got to the point that they had been playing and it was then that I saw he had written his name in the sand.

This dream inspired me to visit the beach and write his name in the sand myself. I took my camera down to the shore at sunset and wrote his name. Since that day in the winter of 2008 I have written over 9700 children’s names in the sand.

It is a simple act that recognizes a life. It gives something beautiful to a family that may only have a few memories of their child – or even none at all.

I requested to have Taryn’s name written in the sand, and you can view it here. Under the picture there is a place where you can leave your own comment or memory of Taryn. After she writes their names, she posts them on her blog as a memorial to each child.

Please DO NOT copy this picture and save it to your own computer. Her work is copyrighted and that would be stealing. 🙂

3 Replies to “Taryn’s Name in the Sand”

  1. Janelle and Ben, Thank you for bringing the Love of Taryn to us this evening. We are and will be praying tomorrow during your procedure. May you have a wonderful and relaxing day. Love you, Jeanie and Jack

    Like

  2. Our prayers are with you regarding your procedure, Janelle, and seeing Taryn’s name in the sand brought tears to my eyes… Such a wonderful way to honor your relationship and memory of your daughter. God bless..

    Like

Comments are closed.