Details PLEASE!!!

Tuesday January 18 – Transfer day (0dp5dt)
Woke up and was so excited at the prospect of being pregnant.  The last 2 cycles we had last year each time before transfer I was so nervous, this time just supper excited!  I had an acupuncture treatment right before the transfer in my Dr.’s office.  Dr. K came in talked to us a bit and then transferred our one embryo to me.  It took about 10 min.  My acupuncturist came back in and did another treatment.  By 12:30 pm Ben and I were on our way home.

Friday January  21  (3dp5dt*)
I went back to the accupuncturist for another session that would help increase blood flow and assist in implantation.  After dinner I wasn’t feeling well, kinda sick.  I asked Ben to come upstairs to give my shots early because I was going to go lie down.  By the time I was upstairs…I was throwing up. (Sign #1)

Saturday January 22 (4dp5dt*)
This day was my birthday!  Ben woke me up with a kiss to take me out to breakfast.  My first thought was, oh dear Lord your breath smells like coffee, I think I am going to puke.  (Sign #2-Couldn’t stand coffee when I was pregnant last time)  My parents, Ben’s parents, and Ben and I went to church and out to dinner.  Ben’s mom wears this vanilla sugar lotion that is hardly noticable…except when I am pregnant.  The smell is greatly intensified when I am.  They walked into church and she sat on the other side of Ben…and I could smell her lotion BIG TIME!  (Sign #3)  On our way home we stopped to buy some home pregnancy tests (HPT).  There was zero chance that the test would come back positive because my body was not producing hCG yet.* (the pregnancy hormone that the test looks for)  But because I had to just get it out of the way…I tested, and it came back negative.

Monday January 24 (6dp5dt*)
I woke up because I couldn’t sleep any longer or my bladder would have exploded.  Funny though I wasn’t very full.  (Sign #4)  I figured I’d try to test again with another HPT.  Pee’d on the stick looked at it the control line showed up…no 2nd line.  Fine.  Washed my hands and double checked the test…POSTIVE!  I called Ben and said…”Hello Daddy!”  He was of course completely thrilled.

Tuesday January 25 (7dp5dt*)
Went into the doctor for our first official pregnancy test (BETA**) to check the level of hCG in my system.  The level came back @ 35 which is perfect for being 7dp5dt*!

Friday January 28 (10dp5dt*)
Went into the doctor for our 2nd BETA test**.  The level came back @113 which is perfect!

I was quite sure I would have overwhelming feelings of stress, and fear the minute I saw the positive on the HPT.  But, instead I was filled with such amazing happiness.  I was completely at ease, and felt so peaceful.  I remember praying the Sunday night before we found out telling the Lord how scared I was to pray again for this pregnancy.  I told Him I didn’t want to pray that I was pregnant, or ask him to please let me be pregnant.  I was afraid of how I would take the news if it was a negative.  I told Him I didn’t know how to pray, so please know my heart and just be with me and calm me. 

I can not explain how happy I am.  I am not fearful of getting too excited before we have the 1st ultrasound and we see the baby’s heart beat.  Last time I was convinced there wouldn’t be a heart beat, this time, I have no doubt. 

I also feel like there has not been a 6 month period of time that I haven’t been pregnant.  I feel like I should be picking back up at 25 weeks, not starting over.  So, it is weird to repeat these weeks so quickly.  When I think of my baby I imagine s/he being the size Taryn was when she was born.  I keep laying there waiting to feel him/her move and I have to remind myself something the size of a poppy-seed that has no extremities is not something I can feel moving yet.  🙂

We will be having our 1st ultrasound on February 11th.  We will be able to see the heart beat then, and will get our 2nd picture of our baby…which will look like a round dark circle.  🙂  According to my calculations which could be +/- a couple of days off, I am currently 4weeks 3days along.  And my due date will be October 5, 2011.  We will find out exactly how far along I am and what my due date will be during this appointment too.

*From Transfer to Positive Pregnancy Test
                             -The Time Line-

  • What does 3dp5dt mean?  When you see this little blurb it means; [(3dp) 3 days past] [(5dt) 5 day transfer].
  • Ok more info please… 
    • (3dp) The day of transfer = day #0, and everyday after that is # 1,2,3 and so on.
    • (5dt)  Embryo’s can be frozen when they are 3-6 days old.  Back in December 2010 my embryo was frozen when it was 5 days old.  Which means it was a 5 day transfer.

Now!  That you have been educated…here is what happens inside my uterus (in a perfect world 😉 when a pregnancy occurs) everyday after the transfer.  Notice, above where I was at when each pregnancy symptom presented itself.  I put the days of the week in parenthesis so you could better see the timeline.

  • 0dpt (Tues) – Embryo is now a blastocyst
  • 1dpt (Wed) – Blastocyst hatches out of shell on this day
  • 2dpt (Thur) – Blastocyst attaches to a site on the uterine lining
  • 3dpt (Fri) – Implantation begins, as the blastocyst begins to bury in the lining
  • 4dpt (Sat) – Implantation process continues and morula buries deeper in the lining
  • 5dpt (Sun) – Morula is completely implanted in the lining and has placenta cells & fetal cells
  • 6dpt (Mon) – Placenta cells begin to secret hCG in the blood
  • 7dpt (Tues) – More hCG is produced as fetus develops
  • 8dpt (Wed) – More hCG is produced as fetus develops
  • 9dpt (Thur) – hCG levels are now high enough to be immediately on a HTP

**Definition of a BETA:  Your Beta is the blood test you take to confirm your pregnancy.  The hormone human chorionic gonadotropin (better known as hCG) is produced during pregnancy.  It is made by cells that form the placenta, which nourishes the egg after it has been fertilized and becomes attached to the uterine wall.  The BETA test measures the amount of hCG in your bloodstream.  In very early pregnancy, the numbers might not be very high but they should quickly increase.  Fetiles typically only have one beta done.  Infertiles have 2-4, 48 -72 hrs apart.  And each number should double with-in a 48-72 hr period of time.  A single hCG level can’t really tell you much about your pregnancy but watching the increase over several days is one way of measuring the viability of the pregnancy. The level will reach its peak in the first 8 – 11 weeks of pregnancy and then will decline and level off for the remainder of the pregnancy.

Yes, to the general public we are kinda a-head of ourselves in breaking the news to everyone.  BUT!  Because you are all going through this Journey with us, you get to know right away instead of waiting till I’m 12 weeks along!  🙂  Every pregnancy is considered in the “danger zone” untill you reach 12 weeks, as the 1 st trimester is when you are more likely to suffer a miscarriage.  Now, because of what happened last time…I will technically never make it out of the “danger zone” and will be considered a High Risk Pregnancy.  Around 11 weeks I will be released to Dr. P my OB.   Around 12-14 weeks I will have a Cervical Cerclage put in to help combat the potential that I could dilate early like I did last time and go into pre-term labor.  I will continue taking my Delestrogen and Progesterone shots untill about 11 weeks.  At that time the placenta is mature enough to provide the baby with nutrients.  I will then be switching over to another form of Progesterone therapy.  We haven’t quite decided which to go with as we need to have more conversations with Dr. P about it.  Studies have shown that by continuing Progesterone therapy until 36 weeks into the pregnancy you increase your chances of not going into pre-term labor.  I will also be going on some type of bed rest after the cerclage is put in, until I deliver.  Around 16 weeks + we will find out the sex of the baby!

That’s the scoop! 
Please keep us in your prayers as we have 33 more weeks to go till we welcome Baby O into this world!

7 Replies to “Details PLEASE!!!”

  1. I am so excited !! I will pray all goes well and that God keeps you and the baby safe and healthy. MIRACLES, love it .

    Like

  2. Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We are so happy for the two of you. Congrats. Thanks for sharing your journey. Take care,
    Paula

    Like

  3. I am so very happy for you! All glory be to God! I look forward to reading about your journey and sharing your joy!

    Like

  4. October 5th was my due date with Avery! Congrats to you and your family. I pray we don’t see you soon (only when you are holding your term baby and you visit us for a brief visit on your way to the nursery). Congrats again.

    Like

Comments are closed.