Pregnancy with a Monster

I am temporarily naming my child…”Monster”.

This child Monster is punishing me for something. I thought I found a winning combination of nausea meds as I was having good day after good day. Then yesterday happens with a spiltting headache and throwing up. Dear child Monster, if you want something specific to eat, just send out the craving…I”ll eat it. I”ll do anything…just please child Monster stop making mommy feel like death.

Ben is convinced that we are having another girl, as a boy would never make me feel this crappy. I am not sure. Most of the time I think girl because of the way I feel is as awful as what I felt like with Taryn. But then, there are times where I can’t explain it, but I feel like I’m having a boy. What do you think?

Tomorrow, Wednesday I will be 11 weeks! Which means I am officially 1/4 of the through! I had my first appointment with my OB, Dr. P on Friday. I love my Dr. and his staff. We had another ultrasound and this time the Monster Munchkin was a wiggling machine! There is something so increadibly amazing about watching your child move on an ultrasound. Up to this point the pictures we have had are of grey blobs with a heartbeat. But on Friday, we saw legs and arms and a moving baby! πŸ™‚ I was explaining to Ben the emotional changes that I have noticed. At first I was excited, and logically I knew there was a baby inside me, but s/he was far from looking and acting like a baby. Then, after Friday’s scan…it feels more real that there is a baby inside me. I have more of a connection now. I can’t wait till I can feel the baby move, that will be the ultimate.

The baby is growing right on target, heartbeat is great, and as Dr. P referes to my cervix, his arch nemisis, well it is so long he can’t measure it. (This is good) So…everything is great! We sat down with him because I had a long list of typed out questions to go over about what my life is kinda gonna look like. Here is what the general plan is…

  • 1st Trimester scan on March 22nd

The purpose for this scan is for early detection of fetal abnormalities. (Birth defects)

“Though the standard in the U.S.A for many years recommended a pregnancy ultrasound at 18 to 20 weeks only for women at high-risk for genetic, obstetrical, or medical complications, this standard is finally changing because of the overwhelming evidence of the value of first trimester evaluations. The discovery of first trimester aneuploidy screen and first trimester genetic ultrasound, has paved the way to earlier detection of fetal syndromes and abnormalities, less invasive testing, earlier parental counseling, and the option for early intervention in both low-risk and high-risk women. First trimester aneuploidy screen allows for the calculation of risk for the three most common chromosomal abnormalities noted at any maternal age, namely Down syndrome (Trisomy 21 or T21), Trisomy 18 (T18), and Trisomy 13 (T13). This screen requires the combination of some ultrasound derived fetal variables and maternal serum testing for two hormones produced by the placenta, PAPP-A and free Beta hCG. The current ultrasound fetal variables used include the crown-rump length, nuchal translucency (fluid compartment behind the neck), nasal bone, and the presence of tricuspid regurgitation (leaky right heart valve).”

Now, the reason we are doing this scan is to get a very detailed baseline for this pregnancy. Ben, and I really could careless about any fetal abnormailities or birth defects. We aren’t doing this find out those things. Now, the reason I am doing it is because sometimes…you can find out the sex of the baby at this scan…if the ultasound tech is good! πŸ™‚

“Cervical cerclage (tracheloplasty), also known as a cervical stitch, is used for the treatment of cervical incompetence (or insufficiency), [1] a condition where the cervix has become slightly open and there is a risk of miscarriage because it may not remain closed throughout pregnancy. Usually this treatment would be done for a woman who had suffered one or more miscarriages in the past, in the second trimester of pregnancy.

The treatment consists of a strong suture being inserted into and around the cervix early in the pregnancy, usually between weeks 12 to 14, and then removed towards the end of the pregnancy when the greatest risk of miscarriage has passed.

A McDonald cerclage, described in 1957 is the most common, and is essentially a pursestring stitch used to cinch the cervix shut; the cervix stitching involves a band of suture at the upper part of the cervix while the lower part has already started to efface. This cerclage is usually placed between 12 weeks and 24 weeks of pregnancy. The stitch is generally removed around the 37th week of gestation.”

  • Start 17 P injections at 16 weeks

“Superior outcomes have been reported in women treated with weekly intramuscular injections of 17 alpha-hydroxyprogesterone caproate, also called 17P or Makena. The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists has promoted the use of 17P injections since 2003, following two randomized placebo-controlled trials. In both studies, the participants were women who had experienced a previous singleton preterm birth. In the larger study, women received the progesterone injections starting sometime between weeks 16 and 21, and continuing until delivery or week 37 whichever came first. Women in the 17P group had 34 percent fewer premature births than women given the placebo, and there was a reduction of 42 percent in the rate of preterm births before 32 weeks.

Researchers are not absolutely certain why the progesterone based treatment works. They do know that in most mammals, progesterone is produced by the placenta during pregnancy. Medical researchers believe that this hormone helps keep the uterus in a quiescent state β€” preventing the contractions that lead to labor.

  • Dr. Appointments every 10 days

This is simply because this is what I am comfortable with. I can come in whenever I need to as Dr. P knows I need to remain sane.

I do not have any serious restrictions, and as of now there will be no planned bedrest. We will just take it one appointment at a time and go from there. I am not supposed to train for a marathon, but considering I couldn’t even exercise my arms while on bed rest w/ Taryn, Dr. P knows better than to assume I’ll be partaking in any exercise routine. He said to do what I feel comfortable with. Which I can tell you won’t be much when I get to about 18 weeks. I fully anticipate my level of confidence in my body to decline when I get to that point.

And now, the real reason you check my blog…pictures of the Munchkin Monster!

Heart beat measuring 177 bpm

I’m covering my eyes with my hands! Why are my kids so camera shy?!

7 Replies to “Pregnancy with a Monster”

  1. Hey Janelle, Not sure of the sex yet although like Jerry says there could be some plumbing there. As of now I’m going to leave it with a question mark as well. Did you get the picture I sent of you last week? Thank you so much for sharing with us. LOVE Jeanie

    Like

    1. It is too early to tell the sex yet, and will probably be at 12 weeks too. But there is a slight possibility at 12 w. At that early the baby’s gender will look male unless you have a trained tech who can tell the difference.

      Like

  2. Wow- thanks for sharing all those details. I love Dr. P. LOVE the 3-d picture of HIM covering his eyes. πŸ™‚
    It was great seeing you and Ben the other day.

    Paula

    Like

  3. Thanks for the update, Janelle! Little Monster is so very cute with it’s hands over his/her eyes!! So sorry you are so sick. we had a 12 week u/s and were able to find out Kate was a girl at 12 weeks!. We had a really great u/s tech…they look for something called ‘the angle of the dangle’. She was really confident about it too, which is amazing at that point in pregnancy. She proved herself right!! πŸ™‚ Continued prayers…

    Like

Comments are closed.