Taryn’s Headstone

It has been really hard to get to a place where I was able to go through the process of picking Taryn’s headstone for her grave.

I believe that she is in heaven, whole and healthy with our Lord. I know her body is resting in a grave, but her sole is in heaven. Going to her gravesite, I don’t feel comforted knowing I am close to her body, but it gives me the opportunity to remember her life vividly, and spend time in prayer. And….cry. It’s the one place I can cry just to cry.

Patricia, Taryn’s nurse visited her grave on Taryn’s birthday. She had to ask where she was located because we had yet to even think about a head stone. But when I saw this picture…

20110812-011021.jpg

I knew if was time to fight back to emotion and finish this process.

I spent a bunch of time looking for the perfect design, and ended up crying because I was supposed to decorate her room NOT her headstone. It was really hard to come to that realization, and I am not sure I have completely worked through it yet.

Today I went to the cemetery to finalize the design and sign off on it. And right now this task is bringing up a lot of sadness, but I am hoping this last item on our “to-do” list regarding Taryn’s passing, will bring some relief and closure (if that’s possible) to this whole experience. We should be receiving it within 2-3 weeks.

Here is Miss Taryn’s Headstone, I absolutely love it and couldn’t be happier with the design.

20110812-012104.jpg

The verse reads:

1 Samuel 1:27-28 (NIV)
27 I prayed for this child, and the LORD has granted me what I asked of him. 28 So now I give him to the LORD. For his whole life he will be given over to the LORD.” And he worshiped the LORD there.

Please keep me in your prayers. I have been having a bit of a rough time lately with anxiety, and sadness.

Xoxo ~J

5 Replies to “Taryn’s Headstone”

  1. Janelle, you picked a beautiful marker. The process is incredibly hard. At minimum you spent hours/days focusing on Taryn’s life and what she would like. You are a strong person with very supportive family and friends. Please let us know if you plan on a public event for the placing of the stone. God Bless.

    Like

  2. What a lovely marker for a dear baby. The sadness must be processed in order to feel the happiness. I always keep you in my thoughts.

    Like

Comments are closed.